♦ La Tavola Marche Finale: Until Next Time….

The weather this early Saturday morning is cool & damp.
Not unlike my mood, as its the last full day of the Forage, Slaughter & Butchery course at La Tavola Marche Agriturismo & Cooking School. I awoke with a heavy heart this morning, yet was eager to get the day started. You know the feeling. Sad to see the last day of a holiday come to an end, but determined to enjoy it to the very last minute.

The day begins in the woods surrounding Ca’Camone, mere steps away from the farmhouse. The air is musty and earthy from overnight rainfall. The forest floor covered in shades of brown and deep orange, from fallen autumn leaves. We’re foraging for mushrooms today. Not exactly the most ideal conditions, as its far too damp but still a valuable exercise in slow food & zero-km living. Unfortunately everything I picked was inedible (aka poisonous) but an enjoyable experience nonetheless.

IMG_4464 IMG_4473 IMG_4494    IMG_4490 IMG_4482 IMG_4476

IMG_4507

We head back to the farmhouse just as the sun begins to show itself behind the clouds. I head to my apartment to pick up an apron, as its my day in the kitchen with chef Jason.

Excited not only to be in the kitchen with our host and to participate in preparing a meal for the rest of our group, but to finally put knife to board in what has seems like a lifetime.

Our lesson’s menu begins with dessert:

IMG_4611Poached pears in red wine, with a mascarpone cream.

IMG_4555Peperonata – stewed multicoloured bell peppers. Sweet, spicy & tangy.
Stuffed eggplant – perfect dish for lunch.

IMG_4547Shaved cauliflower salad – meticulously shaved cauliflower florets simply seasoned with olive oil & vinegar.

IMG_4548Braised escarole with pancetta – bitter greens slow braised with salty pancetta & a touch of acidity.

IMG_4583Ribollita – A hearty, yet light brothy soup with greens & beans.

IMG_4590Hunter-style rabbit – so flavourful braised with tomatoes and plump black olives.

It was apparent that chef Jason was a master from the very first meal I savoured upon arrival. Each dish beautifully executed and simply plated. But today not only did he showcase his skills as a chef but also as a great teacher. A warm & funny persona, competent yet humble, patient with his students.
Our morning in the kitchen flies by as chef Jason shares his recipes and insightful tips. The group leaves our lesson excited, not only to feast on our lunch, but to take this experience home to our own kitchens.

IMG_4570

~

My early morning departure from La Tavola Marche is sombre. Its never easy saying goodbye. I’m slightly nervous about my drive back to Rome, so I decide to be the first to leave and skip breakfast with the group. I’ll need all the extra time I can take to ensure I make my flight.

IMG_2034

Driving back down the pot-hole laden gravel road from La Tavola Marche I take with me more than just memories. Driving in silence once again as the sun begins to rise over the mountains of Le Marche, I am content, fulfilled and grateful.

This trip was more than just a cooking class, a stay at a farmhouse or a short tour of Italy. I witnessed beauty beyond measure,  received kindness and hospitality like no other, and realized a clearer picture of my own capabilities.

Grazie La Tavola Marche.
Our time together, although brief, has etched a place in my heart and in my memories. I look forward to the day you share your beauty with me again.

until next time…
~ jazmine

IMG_4673

IMG_4678

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Spectacular, soulful series on La Tavola. You get it, you really get it.

    Like

    1. dishdivajaz says:

      Thank you for your kind words Walter!

      Like

Leave a comment